time

I noticed my skin today
dry red and annoying
even beneath the silver
betraying an inevitable thing
that creeps behind me

my face can still manifest 
youth, if I am somber
and even though the nails
are painted picture perfect
I despise nail polish

and plucking and tweezing
constant coloring, offensive
my hands ache today
and the wrist slightly
I'm too busy to pay heed

the occasional twinge in my
hips reminds me again
but I sashay boldly
like the young hip woman
that I truly am inside

I embrace the laugh lines
rid myself of lint
and run towards life
perhaps a little slower
only to the observant
Leave a Reply

